Common Themes Among Books Like Divergent

James McFee By James McFee, 16th Jul 2013 | Follow this author | RSS Feed
Posted in Wikinut>Reviews>Books>Science Fiction & Fantasy

Divergent is a narrative about a teenage girl trying to find her way in the world; and a harsh world at that. It is set in a dystopian society where you must thoroughly prove yourself in order to truly belong. It is a place where difference is shunned and even punished. On close inspection, books like divergent relay similar themes that try to connect with their target audience; young adults. These novels creatively address the issues and concerns of this particularly vulnerable group.

Divergent

Divergent is a narrative about a teenage girl trying to find her way in the world; and a harsh world at that. It is set in a dystopian society where you must thoroughly prove yourself in order to truly belong. It is a place where difference is shunned and even punished. On close inspection, books like divergent relay similar themes that try to connect with their target audience; young adults. These novels creatively address the issues and concerns of this particularly vulnerable group.

IDENTITY

This is probably the most prevalent theme in such novels. Books like divergent are tailor-made for young adults who are just beginning to realize who they really are. At this age, identity is a huge deal. There are all these internal battles between whether to conform to the society around you or charter your own course. Divergent brilliantly addresses this. In the novel, Tris is born to the abnegation faction who are known for their selflessness. However, she feels completely detached from this. Over the course of the book, she goes through the process of coming into her own despite the challenges she faces along the way.

COMPETITION

Every teenager out there is fully aware of this and has experienced it in one form or another. Whether it's competing for good grades, in a particular sport or for attention from your crush. It's a staple element in every young adult's life, and books like divergent incorporate this but in a more blood-pumping fashion. In The Hunger Games, boys and girls between the ages of 12 and 18 are chosen to participate in a competition where only one will be left standing. And in Divergent, initiates must go through an extensive series of tests pitting them against each other so as to prove themselves worthy.

RELATIONSHIPS

This is the theme that ties everything together in books like divergent. It deals with relationships between family and more significantly, those of an erotic nature. Young adults have to deal with parents who may not completely approve of everything they do and with those they have a bit of liking to. Books in this genre narrate the highs and lows of such relationships which resound with the readers. In Matched, Cassia who is a 17 year old girl has to deal with the emotions she has for someone that the society doesn't approve of. While in Divergent, Tris develops strong feelings for her team leader Tobias.

SEGREGATION

Segregation is a feeling teenagers experience at some point in their life. It is easy for them to feel isolated or left-out as some of their peers branch out into other interests and circles. Books like divergent brilliantly put this into perspective by showing the effects of segregation and how it can be overcome. Maze Runner depicts a society where boys are enclosed around high walls and must find a way of escaping. The various factions in Divergent also showcase this theme.

IMAGE

They say that image is everything. This rings even louder for those in their teens. In the media, good looks are highly idolized and many are pressured to look a certain way. Books like divergent investigate the effects of this pressure and its consequent results. Uglies portrays this perfectly. In the book, a 16 year old girl has to choose between adopting the aesthetics that the society expects or living in her own skin.

Books like divergent therefore go out of their way to identify the issues young adults face and try to help them overcome them while providing an adrenaline rush at the same time.

Tags

Allegiant, Books, Divergent, Dystopia Books, Dystopian Books, Literature, Novels, Writing Books

Meet the author

author avatar James McFee
James is a constant writer and author. He enjoys reading new books and trying to work new ideas into his story lines. He enjoys a good red wine.

Share this page

moderator johnnydod moderated this page.
If you have any complaints about this content, please let us know

Comments

Add a comment
Username
Can't login?
Password