If You Like Jayne Ann Krentz Books Try Reading These Authors

Barbara10Broek By Barbara10Broek, 11th Sep 2011 | Follow this author | RSS Feed | Short URL http://nut.bz/9pj3tucj/
Posted in Wikinut>Reviews>Books>Romance

Discusses the writing of Jayne Krentz and suggests others who write in the same style.

Jayne Ann Krentz

Jayne Ann Krentz is one of the top names in Romance, with more than 40 best-sellers to her credit. She has been writing Romances for over twenty years, starting with early category series before breaking into the single-title market in the mid-1980s. Currently she writes Contemporary Romance as herself, Jayne Ann Krentz; Historical Romances set in Regency and Medieval England as Amanda Quick; and Futuristic Romances set in space or on alternate worlds under the name Jayne Castle. Readers love her characters, sense of humor, and dialog-driven scenes.

Her books, although set in contemporary times with modern characters, emphasize traditional values such as trust, honor and commitment. As the story progresses and a relationship builds between two people, they learn to trust each other, thereby deepening the bond between them. Many of her characters are strong-willed loners who have become successful in their professions after a rocky beginning as orphans or street-smart urchins. Others have chosen to create their own family units with persons sharing like interests or a similar upbringing. Domestic animals -- dogs, cats, and birds, among others -- feature prominently in Krentz's tales.

The Romantic Suspense written by Krentz is lighter in tone than that of many other popular authors such as Linda Howard, Sandra Brown, and Tami Hoag. She effectively creates a menacing atmosphere but does not portray explicit violence. Krentz's most recent work, displays a heightened level of suspense and an edgier tone compared to her earlier work.

Read A Like Millie Criswell

Millie Criswell's The Trouble with Mary, a non-stop Contemporary Romantic comedy featuring the daughter of a boisterous Italian-American family whose first unfortunate impression of Dan, an Irish-American sportswriter, is his scathing review of her new restaurant venture. Readers who enjoy Krentz's The Golden Chance, will appreciate this amusing story of a courtship conducted amidst the chaos of family life.

Read A Like Tori Carrington

Tori Carrington's Magnificent McCoy Men series details the lives and loves of five brothers in law enforcement; start with A License To Thrill to read them in order. This is very similar to Krentz's Contemporary family series about Eclipse Bay, spotlighting the developing relationship of one sibling while drawing a compelling picture of the family working together as a whole, including the family dog.

Read A Like Stephanie Bond

Stephanie Bond's Got Your Number and Krentz's earlier Sharp Edges and are both "women on a mission" which is complicated by interfering employers and hovering male security/enforcement figures with their own agendas. The interaction between the protagonists is frequently displayed in sarcastic banter as trust deepens between the two.

Read A Like Shirley Hailstock

Shirley Hailstock's More Than Gold, about a former Olympic gymnast now running for her life, accompanied by a CIA agent with whom she shares a past, is a good match to Krentz's newer Romantic Suspense books feature more of an edgy suspense and a menacing atmosphere.

Rrad A Like Anne Stuart

Anne Stuart's Cry for the Moon has many of the same Paranormal/Supernatural elements displayed in Krentz's work. A supporting cast of egocentric and odd yet endearing characters add humor to this Halloween romance between the widowed mother of two small children and a sardonic radio personality who is her tenant. Her inheritance of an apartment building from a distant relative puts her in danger and the situation is further complicated by a greedy lawyer and a ghost.

Tags

Jayne Ann Krentz, Novels, Read A Like, Romance, Suggestions

Meet the author

author avatar Barbara10Broek
Professional Librarian and freelance writer. Home Page: http://barbaratenbroekfreelancewriter.yolasite.com/

Share this page

moderator Mark Gordon Brown moderated this page.
If you have any complaints about this content, please let us know

Comments

author avatar Susan Smeja
8th Aug 2012 (#)

I love the way Krentz does the paranormal with mystery and romance I would love to find more authors that have the paranormal with out the vampires. I plan to read every recommendation you made on this page. Thanks

Reply to this comment

Add a comment
Username
Can't login?
Password